New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

lynda-ki
Snake Mite

2 Posts

Posted - 02/03/2011 :  19:51:30  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi everyone,
Im a total newbie. My 13 year old son got a KS for his birthday two weeks ago. We love him/her. It went off its food for a week but then ate a defrosted chick about four days ago. Loves being handled and is fairly feisty. Since yesterday some strange objects have appeared in the vivarium. There are poos in there too of course but these 'things' look like lumps of wax, as big as your thumb. When they first appear (each time we go back we can see another, there are 6 total now) they LOOK like eggs. Egg shaped, cream coloured and soft/sticky. I noticed that each one changed colour after a while, becoming yellow. I made an improvised incubator using the bark from the base of the tank in a little plastic biscuit tray. Damped some of the bark and left them there. The ones which have changed colour look almost solid and yellow. The remaining ones look like eggs but I see the colour beginning to change. Are these strange poos, or are they indeed eggs and are we saving them?

Kehhlyr
The Resident Loon

United Kingdom
511 Posts

Posted - 02/03/2011 :  20:12:04  Show Profile  Click to see Kehhlyr's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
They most certainly sound like eggs.
If they stay a nice whiteish colour then they'll be fertile if they go a honey sort of colour and quite hard then they will more than likely be slugs.
Slugs are unfertilised eggs.
If they are fertile and you WANT to save them then you'd be better off building an incubator but it's not something that's an easy thing to do for a novice keeper.
If you don't particularly want to go down the avenue of incubating, then pop them into a sandwish bag or similar and put them in the freezer for a couple days. It's not cruel as no embryo has attached or started growing so soon after incubation.